DesktopBSD 2.0 roadmap

Discussion in 'Development' started by malco_2001, Sep 21, 2015.

1. malco_2001

malco_2001 DesktopBSD Veteran

Hello DesktopBSD community,

I was a user of the original KDE based DesktopBSD 1.x releases before the project went into retirement. A few years ago I became a volunteer for the FreeBSD Gnome project. I also ran a package repository called pkgdemon few years that offered early access Gnome 3 packages for FreeBSD. This led to me becoming a commiter for the PCBSD project, and I helped import Gnome 3 among many other commits.

In addition I've worked on the various back-end, and front-end tools. I have a lot of experience with ISO generation. I've worked on the pcbsd-build tools source code as well. In addition I've contributed to numerous other projects.

You can see much of my work over at github here:

https://github.com/pkgdemon for other projects I have committed to
    https://github.com/pcbsd/pcbsd/commits?author=pkgdemon for a lot of PCBSD specific stuff

With your blessing I'd like to step to lead this project in a new direction as a project manager, and developer. I've spoken a bit with EchoD before hand, and here is my proposal below.

Summary of new features for DesktopBSD 2.0:

64 bit only at least initially
    UFS/ZFS filesystem support
    Rolling release only
    Binary upgrades with pkg
    Fast boot up
    Security focused
    Current driver support at all times
    GhostBSD installer
    GTK3 based desktop environment